Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Languages

2»

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I can speak enough English to get me by, and French up to UK high school level (so poorly). I started learning Japanese, but I have to put that on the backburner for a while because I need to learn enough Vietnamese to get by, fairly quickly. It looks really hard too. They use the latin alphabet which is good, but all of the words are monosyllabic, which you'd think would be simple, until you realise that each word can mean about 6 different things depending on the tone you use. :nervous:
  • Options
    German fluently, Swedish and Irish averagely, French, Italian and Slovak (thus also Polish, and Czech as they are very similar to the [or my] untrained ear) very basically.

Oh and English, but I'd hope that's obvious!

I'm always after improving my German though, I am absolutely in love with the language and learned my foundation in it simply by talking and listening and reading random street signs etc. I fell into it in a way I didn't with French (dreadful British school language learning system) and I just love speaking it, hearing it, reading it. Obviously this is completely at odds with the rest of the world and their opinion of the German language as harsh and unattractive sounding :razz:
  • Options
    English, just enough french and spanish to get by on, and a tiny smattering of galiec and dutch.
  • Options
    Mein english, urdu aur panjabi bol sakta hoon. :)
    Kaash mujhe koi european language aati, jaise ke french ya german, lekin mere school ne mujhe kuch nahin seekhayaa. Koi baat nahin, mein khud seekh loon ga.

*translation*

I can speak english, urdu and panjabi.