Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

College, EMA and New Jobs

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Never thought I would post in this forum - very unlike me!

Anywayyy

Here's my situation, I am in my 2nd year of a full time course at college. In my first year my mum and dad were working full time and earning wayyyy above the entry critera for EMA so I never got it. Now however my dad does not work at all and my mum is working urm less than 16 hours a week. My dad is self employed but has no actual set income, he takes jobs as he pleases, can get no money whatsoever one month then a ton the next. I picked up an EMA application form at the beginning of this college year and it says I have to send of all last years taxy and incomey things - but in my circumstance I cannot do that because last years income doesnt match this years income. If that even makes sense.

It just doesnt seem right that we are below the entry now and I could be getting 20 or even 30 a week but I dont get it because of last years income. Surely last year is last year and this year is this year.

Mmmm, :chin: anyone with an extra large brain fancy helping me out?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Not sure if they do it the same for EMA but I was in a similar situation with student loan entitlement at uni, they did work it out as the year progressed I think.
  • PearlyPearly Posts: 345 The Mix Regular
    I'm not sure exactly how it will work, but you could try calling the EMA helpline, they should be able to offer you some good advice.

0808 10 16219.

This article also has some information for you:

Education Maintenance Allowance