Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Mortgages question

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    It's just the way it works. It you're working as a permanent employee for a company, then they are responsible for your PAYE accounts etc. When you have somebody else looking after your money for you, then it can be a different kettle of fish.

I, for example, get no paid holidays, sick pay etc as I am a consultant. I specifically get paid for the work I do on either a daily or an hourly rate. I've just had 3 months off work (between contracts) as the market is fierce at the moment so for some of us, it's not all fluffy bunny land... But when working, yes, it's good.

Often, it's the people taking the biggest risks that get the better benefits, but sometimes lose out - just the way of the world.

I wasn't happy in a 'normal' permanent job, doing the same things day in day out, so I pushed myself and got into what I do now. I don't have any A-Levels or a Degree, but that didn't hold me back. It's partially down to the person and how far you are prepared to go.
  • Options
    katchika wrote: »
    Yeah I would take it, but it DOES seem very unfair that all the people who seem to dodge their way out of paying tax are the ones earning loads in the first place.
    But the rich don't use stuff that tax pays for as much as the poor so is it fair they should pay more for it?! A huge bulk of tax goes towards NHS, state schools, public transport, etc. The rich don't use that much - I'm with BUPA, kids will go to private schools, never use any public transport. Whereas a poorer family will use NHS, go to state schools, use buses etc. Anyway, note that even though I'm paying less % tax, I'm still paying more £ than most, and getting less in return.