Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Burma- a question

Admittedly I'm not an expert on that country, but nonetheless I am under the impression that:

a) the country is under one of the most repressive and odious regimes in modern human history

b) pretty much everybody there is united in their contempt for the military junta that governs them and there are no sectarian factions gagging to get at each other's throats and no religious extremism

c) the military muscle of the regime is comparable to that of an old people's home in Andorra

With the above in mind, could anyone explain to me why we have not intervened to get rid of the fuckers in charge? If there is such thing as a justified and worthy call for use of force, this is certainly it.

ps. no real need to answer. I am aware of the size of the oil reserves in Burma and its geographical location are not nearly as attractive as those of one or two countries I could mention...
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I want to know why they're calling it Burma on the news. I had to do a general knowledge quiz in a job interview the other week, and one of the questions was "what is the modern day name of Burma?" and I thought it was still called Burma so I got it wrong. Still passed the test mind.

Anyway isn't it Myanmar?
  • Options
    Yeah it's called Myanmar these days. I hope to visit it on my travels in Thailand next year. Should be interesting...
  • Options
    I think the monks are pacifists so wont actually try to get the military. Weither the civs try to get them or not i dont know, last time they tried a lot of them got shot i think.
  • Options