Home Anything Goes
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

£10 Freeview Box from Tesco

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
If you haven't got Freeview yet (i.e. still on channels 1 to 5) - I think this is the cheapest you'll find a freeview box for any time soon.

Supermarket giant Tesco has begun selling a DTT set top box for £10 from today.

The box, made by Techwood, offers up to 40 digital channels and selected digital radio stations, and displays an eight-day electronic programme guide.

http://www.tvscoop.tv/2007/08/digital_tv_your.html

http://direct.tesco.com/product/images/?R=202-6072

Comments

  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Sounds good - can you connect it to the PC?
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    CoolMe wrote: »
    Sounds good - can you connect it to the PC?

    For £10 ... :razz:

    What do you think .. LOL
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Sounds good, I paid about £80 for my Phillips Freeview box and its shit. It keeps freezing, you have to unplug and start again.

    Might have to invest in a £10 Freeview box, if it breaks who cares you can just buy another.

    :thumb:
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    DG wrote: »
    For £10 ... :razz:

    What do you think .. LOL

    I don't know i've never gone freeview before
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    CoolMe wrote: »
    I don't know i've never gone freeview before

    You can only plug it into a TV set with a scart socket :wave:

    You can buy USB Freeview boxes for laptops and PC's but this ain't one of them..
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Freeview = a fancy name for DVB-T broadcasts, right? Personally, i reckon 10 pounds is a damn good price...although i wouldn't expect it to last that long LOL.

    For the record, my digital set top box (thats what we call 'em here in Australia) has a USB port labeled "SERVICE" but i think its just for updating the firmware and stuff. I've never connected it to my PC so i don't know hose useful it is in that respect.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I tryed the whole DVB-T thing via USB for the Laptop but i got no signal what so ever but the freeview website said i'm in a perfect area!
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Aren't they beginning to switch of the analogue signal next year? If so it'd be well worth getting one.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    ^^ I 'think' they're starting to turn off analogue signals starting in 2008 and everything will be digital by 2012.

    I think Whitehaven, in Cumbria already is digital. I know they had their analogue signal turned off for a while as they were, apparently, the mosy digital savvy town in the U.K.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    RubberSkin wrote: »
    ^^ I 'think' they're starting to turn off analogue signals starting in 2008 and everything will be digital by 2012.

    I think Whitehaven, in Cumbria already is digital. I know they had their analogue signal turned off for a while as they were, apparently, the mosy digital savvy town in the U.K.

    :yes:

    Tis correct. Finally the Tyne Tess and London regions will switch over in 2012.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Calvin wrote: »
    :yes:

    Tis correct. Finally the Tyne Tess and London regions will switch over in 2012.
    We have to be last don't we? hehe.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    lea_uk wrote: »
    We have to be last don't we? hehe.

    We're special ;)
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    RubberSkin wrote: »
    apparently, the mosy digital savvy town in the U.K.


    Well you would be if you had the Analogue service turn off .. LOL

    London is last cos it has the most people!!

    They're doing by population and distance to other transmitters

    The real shame is the Freeview system is already like 10 years old and technically well out of date compared to what is possible these days.

    You could get at least 25% more channels now using the same bandwidth.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    DG wrote: »
    You could get at least 25% more channels now using the same bandwidth.

    Yeah just think of all those extra shopping channels and repeats of X-Factor we could be watching. :rolleyes:

    :D
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,324 The Mix Honorary Guru
    DG wrote: »
    For £10 ... :razz:

    What do you think .. LOL

    PMSL!

    oh dear...

    One can tell you always had cable, and then moved straight to sky :p
Sign In or Register to comment.