Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Jobless Couple With 12 Children Are Given £500,00 House

14567810»

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I agree. There needs to be a system which reduces the amount of benefits you get, but not by a straight swap (eg for every extra £1 you earn you loose £1 in benefit doesn't work - you need something like for every extra £2 you earn you loose £1 in benefits).

I'm not an expert, but I think that what tax Credits try to do, trouble is it doesn't work as well as it should...

Thats exactly what tax credits and housing benefit do. With tax credits, once you hit a certain threshold (which I don't know off the top of my head) benefit reduces by 55p for every £1 earned until the entitlement is nil. Similar figures apply to housing benefit as far as I know.
    Man of Kent,

You said you think "it would be remiss of us to say "fuck you, your problem". What kind of society is that?"

Do you think that anyone who does say that should be allowed to say it, and, if true to their word, be inactive ?

Anyone should be able to say it, that's the joy of free speech. I'm not sure what you mean be "be inactive" though. We all pay tax and we can only affect how that is spent through the ballot box
    NO-ONE would be starving to death.

No one should be. We, the human race that is, can produce more than enough food to feed everyone, we have the capabilty to ensure that everyone has clean drinking water and we could educate every child on the planet. Unfortunately for us all we don't actually do that.