Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Bit of advice needed

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm a Student and pretty much maxxed out on my overdraft, £5 under the limit and it cannot be increased. The overdraft is interest free.

I'm earning £60 per week, but it's just not going anywhere (times like this I wish I didn't have a horse). I'm going into town shortly to look for another part time job, which hopefully will be enough to get me back on the straight and narrow.

Mum owes me about £70, but that's for sending off for my passport and I really need the money before I can do it, but she hasn't gotten round to giving it to me! I also have to send off for a new counter part driving license, which is about £20. I need both of these ASAP. I can't ask for financial help from my parents as they don't know - its my mess and I will sort it.

I've read through a booklet on the Lloyd's website about sorting financial difficulty, and spoken to one of the call centre peeps. There is a credit card registered to my account and in order to find that out, she had to get the info/forms sent to me.

http://www.lloydstsb.com/credit_cards/student_card.asp

Can somebody give me a brief run through on that? I realise that I'm going to have to speak to somebody in the bank about it, but I don't know whether or not it's a good idea - I'd get these things paid for and then cut it up, before paying it off ASAP.

This is hard :(

Comments

• Options
    Getting a credit card is a short term fix. It's only worth doing it if you *know* you're going to have the money to pay it off in the near future and you have the self control to cut it up.

Have you made yourself a budget? They can be very useful, both for money management and getting yourself out of debt.
  • Options