Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Drugs Education

littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
As some of you may know, I am a teacher. Our Y5/6 topic this term is Drugs Education and I am finding it extremely difficult to teach. It prompted me to think about the drugs education I had in school and all I had (from what I remember!) is 'drugs are bad, don't do them, blah de blah de blah.'

Now, the kids are from a shitty area and a lot of them have experiences of drugs (either parents are users, family friends etc. Some parents are even dealers, so it is quite a touchy subject).

I need to teach the children about choices. About helping make informed choices. I can't (and wouldn't want to, anyway) preach to them like I was 'taught' in school.

I have to admit, I am finding it quite difficult to sit on the fence. The other day, we were discussing cannibas, coffee (caffeine), nicotine, alcohol and heroin. The children's instant response was 'coffee doesn't contain drugs, alcohol and nicotine are ok because they are legal, heroin and cannibas are bad because they are illegal'. But trying to explain that alcohol is more dangerous than cannibas was extremely difficult. You see what I mean?

I suppose this thread is about what your drugs education was like in school and what you would like to see happen with drugs education? Should it be improved? How would you like to see it taught?

Also, can anyone recommend any sites / information booklets etc that I can access to make it easier for children (aged 10/11 - so fairly young) to understand about drugs. A lot of what the school has provided, resource-wise, is fairly bland and uninteresting.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Drugs education at my school was pretty non existent.