Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

house share thingies???

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
basically, im a student and when i graduate+get a job (fingers crossed), chances are i may end up working bout a 2 hr drive away from my parents house! so, i wana get my own place (i want to do this anyway).
my idea was to if i had to move away then id move into a house where people already live+rent a room (and obviously have access to kitchen/bathroom/living space), that way i save money and get to know people there and the new area, so if after the trial period in my job i ge taken on il know people+places and will then feel confident about living on my own (that and the fact that il have a more reliable income as the job has taken me on properly)

BUT - where can i find things like that?? near me now (nr liverpool) there are the odd few adverts in the local buy+sell, but how can i find+arrange something like that for in another county.....and at short notice (probably about 4 weeks - the notice il have to give my current job if i get an offer of another 1 further away)

ok, so my question isnt very clear, but thank you to those who've read it!
basicaaly how can i find out where rooms are being advertised in a non-local area?? websites would be good, but i aint sure what to search for!
thank you
L+C

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    if you know the area, which I presume you do coz it's where you'll be working, look up the local papers for that area on the internet. or gumtree. Have a drive around the area, stop at all the local corner shops and look on the notice boards,a s wella s the ones at the back of the supermarkets. place you own ad for a room.
    I'd google 'house shares xxxxxx'