Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Missing Lectures at Uni

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I am a third year student studying a four year undergrad degree in history, which I love. I am attending all my seminars/ tutorials ok, as we often have useful discussions and you are marked on your contributions, but increasingly, especially if they are before 12pm, I keep missing my lectures. This has been a recurring problem for me since I started uni 2 years ago-I sleep in or tell myself I will catchup ( usually I do), or that it will be fine as technically lecture attendance is not marked. However, I am really beginning to worry as I move towards graduation that my lecture attendance will go against me, that my lecturers must have a bad impression of me ( although my marks are ok and I keep up with assessments), and that I am letting my family down, and also that I am embarrassing myself in front of my friends who regularly attend. Instead of motivating me, this gets me down even further.

In particular, I have one module this term where I have attended all the seminars, done all the reading and get on well with the lecturer, who may supervise my dissertation, but of the 4 lectures we have had this term, all at 10am, I have attended zero.I am worried about attending in future as it will become obvious I was never there before and my friends in that class will think it weird I haven't been yet.

Any advice? ( Thank you for reading!)
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• MirabelleMirabelle Posts: 1,020 Wise Owl
    Hi @ar96 and welcome to our forum.

I am sorry you are missing lectures, but what is causing to miss them? If you can offer some reason, then I am sure we may be able to help you in some way.

Are your friends being supportive? You post seems to imply they aren't.